The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

1929 Cadillac in cherry blossom time

Pale blossom settles
on gleaming paintwork. Lovers
meet again in spring.

I mean car lovers, though of course spring is the best time for any lovers to meet! Anyway, there we were again at the Wheel Nuts car show for the third year running, meeting and greeting vintage cars like old friends. This is a 1929 Cadillac, which I believe is almost identical to one owned by Al Capone in the late 20s. Best in show was another Cadillac, which CleanSteve blipped two years ago: see here.https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3004306

I had a wander round the stalls and won a quite pretty bracelet on the tombola, and a horrid purse, and bought a tricky puzzle and three books. I did not buy a ticket for the bottle stall, which must be a first for me. I lost Steve but found him again. and we wandered off to look at the view over Stroud from the Rosary School, which is adjacent to my school, in a weird sort of infill-building way. All are located on what must have been a large area of land with some grand buildings remaining, that must have belonged to the RC church at one time. The health centre with its two medical practices and a dental clinic are situated slap bang in the middle. They have no religious associations. My cousin attended the special school where I work, in the 1960s. Her parents were deeply religious. So was my mother, and still is, though she is ecumenical these days. Like most of her children, I can recite all the prayers off by heart but do not practise the faith that I was brought up in. (On hearing this fact on a train one day, while stuck in a tunnel near Glasgow Queen Street station, a Filippino nun to whom I had briefly chatted, began to pray for me and my safe return to the fold...)

I digress like mad. The most exciting thing about today was the baking. I made my second loaf of yeasted gluten-free bread, a white one with sesame seeds, and it rose! Tastes good, too. Not as if anything is missing, though the texture is slightly more madeira cake than Mother's Pride. While the dough was proving in a hot place (the cabin in late afternoon sunshine) CleanSteve and I did the ImpossiPuzzle that I'd bought on the junk stall. Later, I came inside and made crispy chicken in lime and ginger sauce, also gluten free. I may yet become domesticated! Watch this space.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.