The second half of life..

By twigs

Winter Camping

The second day of winter hardly seems like a sensible time to go camping but hey - why not give it a whirl!

Had a slow, cruisey morning then set off towards Kaikoura . . . . I've made it as far as Marfells Beach which was recommended to me by someone at work. A well-serviced, clean and tidy DoC (Department of Conservation) campsite that sits right on the beach. As I type this the water is lapping the beach just metres away from me. It sounds glorious :)

Not long after I arrived here I spotted this lady clearly relaxed and enjoying her beach-side long weekend rereat. Such a contrast to the usual (warm and sunny) mental image the word 'camping' conjures up - she's wrapped snuggly in a big jacket, scarf, hat and gloves while struggling to read using the last rays of the day. And she's clearly very relaxed doing it.

Sweet :)

I may or may not get to Kaikoura tomorrow - I'll wait and see what the day brings. That's the nice thing about my kind of camping holiday - no place for binding plans.

G'night :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.