Water Meadows

It's been at least a few days since I last went to Cambridge! Today my mum and I went again along with our friends Mrs S and Mr M. What a lovely day we had!
We did the usual! In fact we were giggling at how we were retracing our steps exactly. Well we had to show Mrs S and Mr M all our haunts!
First stop The Orchard Tea Garden in Grantchester. The sky was blue, blossom was out, the deck chairs were comfy and we had robins on our chairs and the table eating the crumbs. Just glorious!
We went for a lovely walk through the water meadows beside the River Cam. 
The river, buttercups, cow parsley, trees bursting into leaf, swans, geese, our regular mistle thrush. You'd be hard pressed to find anywhere more beautiful.
We had to turn back when a herd of cows starting ambling stampeding down to the river and we beat a hasty retreat back into the next field. My mum was rolling her eyes at me being scared of the cows but underneath all those cute fluttering eyelashes they're deadly killers. 
We got the park and ride into Cambridge and went to Bill's for lunch. Mrs S has always recommended Bill's but we've never been until now. It was scrummy - and they had a very good value set lunch menu. Perfect!
The restaurant is close to the jewellers who made our wedding rings and I went in again to see about getting them sorted. As luck would have it Miss R was there who originally designed my engagement ring. It was lovely to see her again - it's been four years!
We decided to get my engagement ring resized and the wedding band just polished. The engagement ring holds it on anyway! And it was half the price the last woman quoted. So all my faffing was worth it in the end.
I'm looking forward to getting them back - it feels weird thinking they're miles away!
We mooched round a bit more and then went to the the tea room we had to scarper from last time. It was much more relaxed without the time issues. I had tea and stole bits of Mr M's astoundingly good macaroon watched the others eat cake.
Cambridge was at a complete standstill for some reason when we got back on the bus and it took hours  to get back to the park and ride. So long that I missed Fat Club. According to my scales I lost two and a half pounds. Woohoo!! A week of exercise and sensible diet and you lose weight. Who knew?!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.