My Neighbourhood

Today I left again for Washington DC.  I was able to do a few minutes of sight-seeing soon after takeoff - from my office in the sky!  We took a very different route after takeoff.  I'm not used to seeing my neighbourhood except on final approach before landing.  Normally when we takeoff to the west, we bear north just before Maidenhead, but today we continued west. While I didn't get any pictures of my actual neighbourhood, this shot is very close by.  In the bottom right is a little bit of Wargrave, then Shiplake in the middle and Henley-on-Thames towards the top left, with the Thames easily seen snaking through.  I love walking along some of these stretches of the Thames!

I've added an 'extra photo' (what a great new feature of blipfoto!).  As we continued west we flew right over Reading and I was able to see my old neighbourhood of Tilehurst on the west side of Reading.  This is where I lived growing up, and again 2 other times in my adult years, living in my mum's house.  The long finger-shaped park is where I would walk Dolly every day (and our previous family dogs as well).  Our family used to call it 'The Hill' but it's real name is McIlroy Park. I used to play there as a child and it is a beautiful oasis with wide views of the Thames valley in what is otherwise a bit of a built-up suburban jungle.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.