Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Bank holiday BBQ

....with plenty of salads of course.

Trying to catch up, ironing to be done, hundreds of photos to be edited, TV to watch...I have to see the last episode of Poldark....

At least I slept well last night and feel more human again today. I finished my book The Long Road to the Deep North last night. It was not an easy read, the way the story jumps from the current day to the past and back again takes some getting used to, and the violent scenes in the Japanese POW camps are horrific - I had to take a break as they are just so graphic and disturbing. Yet it was a brilliant book, a classic that will remain in my mind for many years to come, it is a highly recommended read if you can stick with it. I can see a movie being made from this book.

When we first heard about the birth of the royal baby, at Singapore airport en route home, we wondered what her name would be. Not having read any of the newspapers or hearing about the bookies favourites, I told Gavin I thought it would be Charlotte as it had not been used for some time in the royal family - it seems I was right!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.