Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

This is not Kenya....

Another gorgeous day, sunny and bright. I planned to do one of two things - take Murdoch for a long walk on the North Downs and get some wide, open landscape images - or take him for a shorter walk and go by myself by car in search of some rapeseed fields. I ended up doing neither of those options.

He had a shorter walk, then I went to get some groceries and by the time I got home and had finished my lunch I realised that I had to go to Kingston to get some shopping done. I really don't like shopping anymore and usually do all of it online, but this necessitated a real shopping trip.

On my way home from Kingston I went past Bushy Park to see the deer. This scene reminded me of the annual migration of the wildebeest in Kenya, all the deer were moving in a pack and into the water and out the other side - Of course it's not Kenya (but we can dream, can't we?), there were no crocodiles, only a few startled geese and ducks.

I saw a father and his children throwing sugar lumps to the deer - I am sure you are not allowed to feed them, and I doubt sugar lumps are good for them (see extra photo of a deer catching the sugar lump). Other people were feeding them bread, and one horrible little boy was running amongst them screaming and shouting at them to go away. No wonder they sometimes attack humans!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.