MAY THE 4TH BE WITH YOU - STAR WARS DAY

The weather was much better today - sunny and a bit warmer.  I walked down to the village this afternoon - just to Tesco to get some fruit.  Then another walk this evening to slimming club.  Put on one pound.  Oh well - - must try harder this week.

Neil came here after work - haven't seen much of him as he is in his room watching the snooker.  Its the Final.

As its Star Wars Day today -  " May the 4th be with you " this is The Mono Monday challenge hosted by Dollykgray.  I have never actually seen a Star Wars film from start to finish - just bits and pieces whilst passing through whenever it was on TV.  I didn't think I possessed anything Star Wars related but  after a bit of thought I remembered that Neil used to have a Star Wars duvet cover when he was little.  So I had a scratch around in his old bedroom and I found it.  Its from Star Wars Episode V:~ The Empire Strikes Back.  The quilt must be over 30 years old.  I am not good as getting rid of stuff but this has worked to my advantage today.

The Empire Strikes Back was released on May 21, 1980. It received mixed reviews from critics initially but has since grown in esteem, becoming the most critically acclaimed chapter in the Star Wars saga; it is now considered one of the greatest films ever made.  It became the highest-grossing film of 1980 and, to date, has earned more than $538 million worldwide from its original run and several re-releases. When adjusted for inflation, it is the 12th-highest-grossing film in North America.

In 2010, the film was selected for preservation in the National Film Registry by the Library of Congress for being "culturally, historically, and aesthetically significant."

Neil's quilt shows various characters from the film and I was finding it difficult to choose just one to blip.  So I had a go at making a little collage.  On the left are C - P30 - he is the tall gold one and R2-D2 - the little silver robot.  On the right is Yoda. - a legendary Jedi Master. Small in size but wise and powerful. 


Steps today - 7.945

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.