Widwed10 - Time

Today saw me flat on my back on the cobbled path by the minster, photographing this ancient sundial as my offering for this week's Wide Angle Wednesday's challenge on the theme of 'Time,' kindly hosted by chantler63. I felt a little awkward (major understatement!) but a blip has to be blipped :)) I tried to make sure I chose a time when there was no one else around. I'm not altogether convinced I succeeded!!!

Having suffered the indignity of lying stretched out on the cobbles, this perspective has to be my blip but for a much prettier view of the minster, please take a peak at my 'extra' - the sundial is on the pillar at the base of the tower.

Apparently, this sundial has three faces so that the time can be read at any time during daylight hours, assuming there is unblocked sunlight. It bears the date 1676, although it has only been positioned on this pillar since 1894.

Huge thanks for your amazing response that allowed my 200th blip to take first position on Page one of Popular for a while - I am truly overwhelmed! Many, many thanks for your comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's Shimmering Water blip, too!


Day 39 of Blipout2015, suggested by PaulFS,  making the most of the daylight by only blipping outdoor photos until the clocks change in October.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.