Capel's Mill railway viaduct

I continued recording the views of problem areas to illustrate the issues at the meeting on Friday with the railway authority.  Today I went to Capel's Mill railway viaduct over the River Frome at the edge of Stroud's town centre.  I wanted to record all the damage being caused by the unchecked growth of plants from the brickwork of the this important structure, most of which is the notorious buddleia plant.

It was very windy and squally at the site by the canal and rain was falling most of the time, although not enough to stop me filming.  But at one point I did have to shelter under some of the arches of the viaduct and while I was there I took the opportunity to photograph some of the graffiti which has been gradually added to the brickwork over the years.  Since the canal regeneration work new parts of the arches has been revealed and access to their bases improved so that artists have been given more opportunities.

I liked these vivid colours and shapes   and chose an angled view rather than the more commonly filmed scenes of layers of graffiti on different arches seen via a kind of tunnel view that is available.  I have done that before, as have many others.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.