Tattie Field

The alarm went off at 6am and we lay in bed and listened to the election news.  We heard that the lion has roared in Scotland.  The SNP’s win is quite unprecedented.  As for the rest of the UK – it is blue.

I met a friend for a quick look in a couple of shops and a toasted teacake this morning.  I bought nothing while she spent some money! This afternoon BB and I have been out on our bikes. It was freezing and I really wished I had put my gloves on.  Poor BB had his shorts on and his legs were cold.

We’re sending TT out for pizza when he gets home, an easy and quick tea.  I am hoping we have a quiet weekend ahead.

Here’s a view up the tattie drills in a field by the river.  I grew up in a big tattie growing area, and I used to go tattie picking in the October holidays (the tattie holidays).  it was back-breaking work - but paid well for us school kids.  I seem to remember getting £10 a day in the last year I did it - which was loads of money to us in those days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.