Happy Birthday

Having gone to bed early (because of staying up for the exit poll) I woke at just after 1.  I was catching up on the election news (depressing though it is) when my phone died.  Black screen and nothing I've done can revive it.  It is currently sitting with battery, SD card and SIM all out in the vain hope hope that when I reassemble it, it will work.  I have my old phone here, used for Audible but when I changed contract and network provider 2 years ago I never had it unlocked.  That could take up to a week.  It wouldn't be a problem except I aml off to Vietnam on Monday, to HCMC, formerly Saigon.  I paid to fast track the visa letter and now I've booked the Air Asia flight and the hotel.

Apart from the 'excitement' with the phone we had another disruption at 5.30 when the buidling fire alarm went off.  Nobody, but nobody, rushed for the fire exit and just as Olivia was being lifted, it silenced. 

So after a morning printing off Vietnamese visa stuff, reading up about things that can go wrong with a Samsung Galaxy 3 Mini, booking flights and a hotel and asking O2 for a network code (oh and waiting in for Mr tesco) it was time for a swim with olivia and her dad, followed by lunch.  #2 d in l was studying so then we went to 1 Kiara for cards presents and flowers for tomorrow, Mother's Day.

I had a proper swim before we went out.  It is incredibly hot and humid here just now.  Just so sticky.

Tonight we wer back in Puchong with the other family.  Olivia's oldest great grandmother is 92, in fact she may be older as she says her birth was registered when she was born.  It was a big, and I mean big, family gathering at a vegetarian restaurant, not the best food but a great family event.  I know them so well that I fell they are part of my extended family.  This is great grandmother (I don't even know her name) with 10 of her 11 daughters  (the missing one lives in Sweden).  After the daughter shot came the grandchildren and great grandchildren photos.  Olivia has so many relations.  The cakes were made by granddaughter Katherine.  An aunt (one of the higher, younger, numbers) gave me one of the roses for Mother's Day.

Olivia was very good throughout and it was a very happy evening. Now I'm hoping the litres of Puer tea won't keep me awake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.