creative lenna

By creativelenna

May macro mayhem #3

This is a bowl that I made on the wheel in a pottery class when I was in college in . . . . should I tell you? Will you believe me? I made this bowl in 1978! My signature and the date are etched on the bottom. Can you imagine, that was 37 years ago. It hasn't broken and I still use it!

This bowl was made in Los Angeles, CA in 1978. It traveled back home to West Hartford, CT in 1979, then moved to Farmington, CT in 1982, where I raised both my boys. It did not stop traveling there! Next stop for this bowl was Canton, CT in 1998, then East Granby, CT in 2002. From there Steve and I took it to Avon,  CT in 2006 and 2 different homes. Then in 2009 this bowl traveled all the way to Florida! First, it landed in a cottage in Bradenton, then on to Cortez, FL, then to NW Bradenton and fiNALLY in 2012, to the Braden River in East Bradenton -ha! A lot of traveling for such a small bowl. It is just 4" across and 2-1/2" high. I do love it so.

I like how the macro view of the bowl shows all the detail in the glaze. Thanks to walking wombat for such an interesting challenge! 

A truly happy person is one who can enjoy the scenery on a detour.
  ~ unknown

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.