HAPPY BIRTHDAY, LINDA!

My friend, Linda, and I tend to meet on a Monday most weeks and today was special, as it was her birthday, so we met at Balula, a lovely little coffee shop in Old Town.  

However, she didn't open her presents, as I thought it would be good if she opened them with her daughter when she comes home from school later, especially as they have had SATs today - short for Standard Assessment Tests.  These tests seem to strike fear into the hearts of pupils and teachers alike - we never had those in my day, just old- fashioned exams at the end of term, and I don't remember getting that het up about them, but things change!

We had a lovely time together and although Linda was keen for me to have some cake - her treat, she said - I declined her kind offer.  The hot chocolate with cream and marshmallows that can be seen at the bottom left was hers, not mine!

Later when I went round to catch a bus, I was interviewed by someone from the local Radio station - Swindon Town Football Club are playing against Sheffield for a place in the SkyBet League One play-off semi-final this evening.  I told him he couldn't have asked anyone more clueless about football, but he still asked me questions.  I only knew the game was on because our grandson asked me if I would print off a ticket that he had purchased online last night - so I did know a little about it.  The interviewer asked if I would accompany my grandson to Wembley if Swindon get through tonight - but I told him I probably wouldn't - it's not cool to be going to a football match with your Grandma!  He did suggest I could sit three rows behind!

Anyway, I may be glued to the radio between 4 and 6 p.m. - on the other hand, I may just continue to listen to Classic FM!

"Some people believe football 
is a matter of life and death, 
I am very disappointed 
with that attitude. 
I can assure you it is much, 
much more important than that."
Bill Shankly (1913 – 1981) 
Scottish footballer and Manager of Liverpool 1959-1974

My extra photograph is one of my Post-its put up in Balula today - the yellow one - the other is one I put up last week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.