Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

My first house

Not the first house I bought, but the one I went home to from Lealholme Nursing Home.  My maternal grandparents lived in No 6 Percy Terrace, Sunderland. They made a flat on the first floor for my parents when they married and we were here until I was 2 years old.

To take this photograph, I am standing where the Anderson shelter stood. Mum says it was always wet inside and they huddled there during the air raids, returning home after the all clear, but all too often to returning during the same night. Sunderland was heavily bombed during WWII.

No 6 is the left hand house in the image.

Behind me is the railway line where we stood and waved at the trains.

I remember this as an enormous house - just shows how fickle memory can be.

I was in Sunderland because Margret had her cataract operation today. We all think that Sunderland Eye Infirmary is excellent. The only down side was that they put clear tape (like you use on presents) over the whole eye and it had to be removed this evening for the first drops to go in. Horrible for Margret.  Mum has had instructions in how to put the drops in while I'm away.

Had Carla at the vet this morning. She is still not eating but nothing obvious causing this. She was well enough to bring a whole rabbit home yesterday....

Back to the packing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.