Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Near Midnight Special: .Aurora and Milky Way

With the witching hour fast approaching and word of an Aurora Australis filtering down off the social networks, I decided to head out of Blandswood and make my way towards Geraldine to see what was out there.

Stopping on one of the gravel roads that make their way towards the Orari River, I set up my tripod. It was surprising to see the camera registering the yellow and red of the aurora quite clearly, especially as it was still pretty faint with the naked eye.

Having got the exposure right, I then decided to make this pano, with 6 shots taken with the fisheye giving me lots to play with as I stitched it together in Photoshop

Thanks to all those who wished me a happy 1000th Blip Birthday yesterday and a big thanks to all the heart, stars and comments on my ghostly image and propelling it to the Popular Page. It was fun capturing it, and I'm glad it got the "chilling" response I was hoping for!

Now, let's begin the next 1000 shall we?? :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.