Flora Day

Back-blip 3 of 6…..

An early start (05:45 alarm) this morning ready in time to see off the first of four dances which are part of the famous Flora Day celebrations in my home town of Helston in Cornwall. The intermittent showers didn't dampen the spirits of the dancers, the town's brass band leading the procession or indeed the thousands of spectators along the four-mile route. In fact I'm very privileged to be invited back each year to play with the band for two of the dances. 

Another highlight for me is a visit to The Blue Anchor where the Cadgwith Singers get together for an informal sing-along of mainly traditional Cornish songs. Armed with a pint of the pub's own brew - Spingo real ale - and a pasty. What could be better?

We had a few more ales during the day, a fish and chip dinner and, I forgot to mention earlier, Andy had his first pint of the day at 07:15 and shortly after I had a pasty for breakfast - it's traditional! Proper job.

I've added some extra blips though, I didn't capture too many pics during an otherwise busy day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.