Nice Place For A Picnic; Te Wanahu Flat

After a walk through the bush this morning, I thought I'd grabbed my shot for the day. I'm sure you can picture the scene; me, sitting on a small bench in the middle of the Dennistoun loop track, firing away with the X-T1 taking photos of fantails and the bush as light streamed through the canopy. All very nice. But when going through my shots something seemed to be missing, a certain je ne sais quoi.


So tonight, just before midnight, I thought I'd swing round to Te Wahanu Flat  - a clearing on the edge of the forest off Rangitata Gorge Road - to grab this shot of the centre of the galactic core in Scorpio rising above the lone cabbage tree and picnic table there.

Apologies if you're tiring of the third straight astro shot. I promise something different tomorrow. Unless there's another aurora and then you know what I'll be doing... ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.