Incredibish

By Incredibish

That Old Chestnut

If yesterday was bright and summery, today could have been half a year away. Rain and more rain and it's not been a day to go out much. I've spent most of it playing Elite Dangerous on the iMac, but we did nip out for the usual three miler around the village - just to show willing.

The chestnuts are full of bright if slightly ragged and wind-tossed 'candles', and I'm drawn to them particularly today because the leader of the new United Kingdom government said something. He said "For too long, we have been a passively tolerant society, saying to our citizens 'as long as you obey the law, we will leave you alone'," How chilling. How could anyone not be reminded of 1984?


Under the spreading chestnut tree
I sold you and you sold me
There lie they, and here lie we
Under the spreading chestnut tree


(yes, I know, but I was probably already on a list anyway)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.