Incredibish

By Incredibish

Four Spotted Skimmer

Or if you prefer the Linnaean version, Libellula Quadrimaculata. Quite a beauty, and we came across it at Tyntesfield today, skimming eponymously around a small pond in the grounds of the Victorian-Gothic mansion. He (or she, I'm no expert) wasn't all that keen to sit for me, and there was no way I was able to focus on him while he was in flight, zooming round and around  the edge of the pond. But I got him in the end. Check him out in "large".

Previous to that we had a couple of hours wandering Leigh Woods near Bristol, where for some unaccountable reason do do with overfishing an artist has planted a handful of fishing boats into the middle of the woods. Not actually as surreal as it ought to be, in the blazing sunshine, but I'm sure if I can bring myself to return early on a misty dawn before the light picks up it'll be great.

Belatedly I realised today was Wednesday (they all merge now, you know) and the stranded trawlers would have made for a good ODD theme had I remembered. I even had my wide lens with me... hey ho. I'll take a miss on this one, chantler63.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.