Capital adventures

By marchmont

Last night

My last full day in HCMC, Saigon. 

My heel is a bit better but I still set off in my sensible shoes to the War Remnants Museum.  A lot of interesting info about the struggle against colonialism and capitalism and the war in the 50's, 60's and 70's.  Again it was weird seeing things I've lived through depicted as history, when for me it was politics.  Some good war photos by various photographers including some very famous ones.  A lot about Agent Orange and trophy US helicopters and planes outside.

Then I did a silly thing, I decied to walk to Cholon (Cinatown) to see pagodas.  LP said take a taxi, I decided to walk, in the heat of the day with no hat. Numpty.

After over an hour passed many moped and car repaior shops I was there but I was hot and fed up and eventually without seeing one single pagoda I baled an hailed a taxi.  Took ages to get back i was that far out.

Too hot for lunhc I had a beer and nibbles by the pool and then my 'Happy Hour' massage.  It was a traditional Vietnamese version, ok but ....

I'd decided to go back to Number 19 for the set meal, but it was closed so I went back to Number 13, too hot and tired to trek and find somewhere else. 

I had a final walk up the street where they were putting the last touches to whatever show is coming up.  Parts of the street were closed off, the fire tuck and the TV truck were there and it looked lioke some young girls were abouit to rehearse.  The former Hotel de Ville now has more revolutionary posters in front.  the 19 May is Ho Chi Minh's 125 birth anniversary.  I think this is what is being celebrated.

Back to finish packing, and a last view of CNN.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.