pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Sheringham & Cromer Crab and Lobster Festival

This weekend it's just me, Moll & H. I woke at 8 but let the kids sleep as long as they wanted. By 10 I'd cleaned the bathroom and kitchen, done one load of washing, rung my dad and cut the lawn back and front. It was about 10.30 when Mollie appeared to ask what we were doing today.

We eventually headed into Cromer at 11.30 to check out the festival. Parked in a side street - I don't like paying - and walked into town. There was a lovely array of stalls, lots of them foody, and lots of people enjoying them. We bought a dressed crab to have sandwiches for lunch, and fudge just because! It is a local couple and lovely fudge, so I thought the were worth the photo advertising! Good to support local businesses. The Fudge Company - they have a page on facebook.

I chatted to at least 3 stall holders. One lady was interested in hearing about how we came to be in this part of the country. Another lady was selling hand painted stones. They are amazing, painted to look like little stone cottages. I have one which was bought for me as a gift by lovely friends a few years ago. I'd like another one, and the lady told me where she will be selling in the near future, and suggested I took my existing stone with me to get a contrasting one! I might just do that!

We then wandered down to the seafront, squandered 90p (me) 70p (Mollie) and £1 (Henry) on 20 minutes entertainment at the 2p arcades! I thought it was good value! I even won a (tacky) pair of button earrings which I might even wear.....if I'm ever at an 80's fancy dress party.

More gardening in the sun this afternoon - planted my tiny mesembryanthemum, stock and nasturtiums into pots at the front, in the hope they will give a nice display of colour. I've never grown bedding plants from seed before, so quite pleased with these. Then went back to dig over a bit of my border where I need to plant veg. I have sweetcorn and courgettes ready to go in, but no space! 

Henry put out some unwanted old toys in the front with 'for sale' signs and managed to make £5 from a passing grandma, who wanted the tractor and trailer. Glad that has gone to a good home. It was much loved by many little boys who stayed in our house over the years.

I spent a bit of time sitting in my summer house drinking tea today. It is the perfect peaceful spot for thinking. I was joined briefly by Ralph (my ginger cat) and Henry also did some homework in there. Mollie cooked tea while I wrote a chapter for my book. I felt quite inspired. It has been a long time since I felt happy enough to write anything half decent. Watch out for an onslaught of poetry as I get back in the mood.....lol!

Tonight we have tickets to go and see Pitch Perfect 2 at the little Cromer cinema. Mollie is beside herself with excitement - like a 5 year old! Pitch Perfect she has watched at least 20 times. It should be a nice family fun evening. Looking forward to it! It will be a late-ish night, hence an early blip. 

Hope you are all still awake....I'm trying to make the blips shorter, but it just isn't happening :-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.