Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Feathering the light

This morning was raining and cool, and not great for outdoor photos. I took Murdoch for a walk in the rain and that was bad enough!

When I got home, I decided as Luke was off today (he worked 44 hours last week) it was an ideal opportunity to practice lighting techniques. I wanted to play around with feathering the light, where you turn the centre of the light away from the subject so that you use the light produced by the edge of your softbox, known as the penumbra, the shadow area of your light source.

I am not sure if I got it right, but we had fun trying although Luke would never make a model as he kept moving and changing position!

Luke and I enjoyed watching The Following on Sky Atlantic, it is getting so exciting as it nears the series end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.