Urban wader

Seen on the deck of our apartment this evening. Caught in its usual pose. I have tried repeatedly ever since it was given to me ten days ago by Young L, to observe it in a different pose. I have almost managed once or twice, but then I blink and it is back to this determined look at what is past.

I tell it that such a preoccupation is unhealthy. As unhealthy as is looking always to the future. At least this wader is aware that we can know the past, whereas the future may not be as we either hope or fear, and rarely is as we planned it to be. 

All I ask is that it looks directly at me (the present[ed]), and together we can use that knowledge we have found from before to mould our capacities to deal with what the future presents us with.

This present from Young L was as appreciated as it was unexpected. His mum had taken him and Mr H to look for a Mothers Day present for S, and he had seen this, and wished to liberate it from its dark corner on the shelf. Daughter C told me that he would not be discouraged, saying "Grandpa will like it. He's keen on birds". I was/am really touched that he wanted me to have something from him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.