No hat today

I had a slower than expected start to the day, as it was arranged that I would attend a 1000 am meeting at the inpatient unit on this side of the harbour. It made no sense to drive across the shore, as the slow traffic back would have meant leaving almost as soon as I had arrived. 

So I took a morning run along Ponsonby Road, which has provided me with many blips over the years. On my way to Three Lamps I saw the The Man in the Hat was seated at his usual table outside Bambina, one of the busy morning cafes on Ponsonby Road. As I went to approach him, he started a conversation with someone who had just sat at the adjacent table.

I have blipped The Man in the Hat twice before. The first time (without his knowledge) was almost four years ago. Almost two years later, I talked to him, and got his permission for a photo, as well as identifying the book he was reading.

In the time I have been running along Ponsonby Road, before and after carrying a camera, I have seen him seated outside Bambina Cafe, whatever the season, and always with a book, with his hat on, or (more recently) on the table, and his coffee (a long black = a large espresso). He has been a fixture.

On the way back from the end of Ponsonby Road, I saw him starting to walk toward me, away from Bambina. He saw me, recognised me and we had a short conversation in which I asked him if I could again take his photo. He offered an action shot, almost adopting a Superhero pose. I demurred and suggested that he should be himself. This slightly quizzical look is the result.

I did ask what book he was reading; I hope I have remembered it correctly as being All the Little Live Things by Wallace Stegner. I can assure you that the author is a US writer, as he informed me of that. When he asked if I followed any American writers I said "no", leading to being asked if I do read. I told hime that I am currently reading a book by Christopher Brookmyre, and explained that he is an excellent Scottish author. He may change the nationality of who is reading!

I didn't ask where is his hat.

EXTRA
I have just added two extra shots which were taken this evening from the deck

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.