keithyboy

By keithyboy

Starry Night

Sorry that I've been missing for so long Mum, I have had a bit of man flu and there's been virtually nothing happening apart from waking up and going to work then coming home and sleeping. for 2 weeks! Now I'm feeling a bit better and the sky has cleared at the same time, I dragged Nomi out of bed when I got home so she could pose in the wind and the rain by the side of the lake. I have no idea how she puts up with me.

My excitement was fulled by the arrival of a new toy, a light diffuser I ordered while sick and on Lemsip. Making it easier to night portraits under the stars. I didn't exactly get the shadows right and it left Nomi looking a bit funny in more than one picture but I like this one despite the weird shadow that "looks like a beard". After this it was bed time followed by physio then a nap before heading well out of town to shoot the Milky Way rising high above the mountains. There's a great picture to follow.

As for the picture, a 30 second exposure with the ISO cranked right up to 6400, shining a torch through the diffuser for approx 2 seconds. Nomi let her hair down for this one so the fairly strong wind would catch it and I really like the effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.