Capital adventures

By marchmont

Dinner

Despite this being my 5th visit to KL in 4 years today I had a couple of 'firsts'.

After being woken at 6.30 by the robot I eventually rose and gave Olivia her breakfast. #1 d in l went off to work slightly later than normal and about 10 I set off.

A taxi to KLCC. The plan was the open top bus but I first investigated going up the Petronas Towers and not only was that totally possible but as an overseas tourist aged over 61 I qualified for half price!

It was worth it, a great view of the city and a charming Syrian honeymooner who insisted on taking loads of photos of me at both levels.

Back down to earth I did buy the 'welcome photo', a night view and then went for lunch at the food court in Suria before getting a nappy pail at Mothercare. And, having read about the brand in my Marion Keyes, I clocked the Kate Spade shop. Me, I resisted sandals in Bata.

The afternoon was spent on the open top bus. It took over 2 hours and bizarrely one of the stops is the Istana Negara, down the road from here. But I was committed to the whole tour. KL is one huge building site, new MRT, new hiteks, new residences.

I got home by fixed price taxi at 4. Time for a swim. #1 d in l was home, but had to go out later to her study group.

Olivia had dinner on the balcony and then #1 son and I strolled along to Verve Shops for our dinner and a couple of beers. Olivia enjoyed the snapper!

Only 3 more days and then I'm homeward bound. Phoned the Manor by Skype this afternoon. All well there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.