A time for everything

By turnx3

"I'm still hungry!"

Monday
After going for a work-out at the gym, I went to explore another new park today - Otto Armleder Park, which is jointly run by Hamilton County Parks and Cincinnati Parks. It is located near Lunken airport, and borders the Little Miami River. It features hiking trails and a bike path, a playground, shelters, recreational fields, a large dog park and large meadow areas which were great for wild flowers and bird watching. It was clearly a popular habitat for red-winged blackbirds and swallows - quite a number of the nesting boxes like this one were occupied. I also saw an indigo bunting, a western meadowlark (which was a new one for me) and several birds I couldn't identify for sure. The mother swallow did not appreciate me hanging around near her babies and would fly low over my head chirping a warning cry, and at one point almost dive-bombing me until I got the message and moved away! I shall definitely be returning to this park again! I also found another Art for all exhibit there - so I've now found 5 of the 80 on display around the city - I'm hoping to visit all 80 before the summer is over!

One year ago: Augusta ferry

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.