BrixFest Flyers

Bank Holiday Monday and we joined the throngs of people heading for the seaside. That's not like us, we'd usually avoid going anywhere on such a day. Grand daughter Ellie had phoned her nanny a few days earlier and said that there were all sorts of craft things going on at the beach if we'd like to join them. The traffic wasn't too bad apart from usual slow spots and we seemed to get there and got parked up ahead of the crowds. I headed out along the breakwater and took some shots of the lighthouse and other nautical goings ons, then went back to join the others.

A display by the Yakovlevs Aerobatic Display Team had been cancelled the previous day because of poor weather conditions but had been rescheduled for today. I only had a little camera with me with 16-85 lens so I wasn't too hopeful of what I'd get but these little prop-driven Russian warbirds put on an amazing display. There are usually 6 of them in the air but we only got 2, which probably made it easier to keep track of in the sky.

I hope you'll be able to see what's happening in my main blip. Zoomed in on my big computer it's a job to separate the planes they're so close. There's a couple of extras too. They're all cropped down a bit but I'm very pleased with the results I got from a little camera with an inappropriate lens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.