Postcard from Victoria Street

Today has been really beautiful after a heavy frost. This afternoon I took a short walk down Victoria Street which is just around the corner from where I live.

In just about every shot in this collage there is a new building or earthquake repaired building in Victoria Street. This street is the first street to go ahead with the rebuilds and repairs in the city. Here is article from a while ago that has a lot of photos of what was happening in the street.

I stopped and had a coffee at a place I hadn't been to before, that just opened recently in one of the new buildings in Victoria Street. Apart from a long wait, the coffee was good. The silver gnome you see in this collage used to stand outside the Christchurch Art gallery. I am not sure if he is on loan or the people brought him.

Remember the Blip I did a couple days ago of the Knox Plaza building and the CTV Building Memorial..you can see the Memorial in a few of my shots in this collage. When I walked past the building today there were people cleaning all the windows and also I noticed there was a purple light on the Memorial. That is why I took more shots today.

On my way home along the other side of the street I took a few more photos of the Knox Plaza building. It is really hard to get a good shot because of all the traffic. There a wonderful dress shop where I was standing to take the shots, so thought I would have a look in. I had been in the shop once before when they were in their temporary building next door. It is a very expensive shop with mostly New Zealand designer cloths. I did see a wonderful winter coat that just about fitted me perfectly. I may wait to and see if its in their sale later on. 

I got talking to the girls and the first thing they comment on was the fact the sculpture at the Knox Plaza had the light on it today for the first time in the day time and how wonderful it looked. They told me it normally came on around 5pm. Also I was told it looks amazing in the wind.. I didn't realize it was a Kinetic Sculpture. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.