Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Poppies

I love it when the first poppies appear every summer, and I noticed these poppies by the side of the road yesterday. I went back to take some photos of them today, but every time a car whooshed past it caused them to be blown about which made it difficult to get photographs. Perhaps I need to go back at a quieter time when there won't be so many cars about. I have added a close up as my extra shot today.

Adam and three other boys from school have formed a barber shop quartet and they have sung at school a few times. However, today one of the teachers is hiring them (as in they will be earning a fee!) to sing at a conference that he is running. They do a very good version of God Only Knows - I am sure you have all seen the terrific version commissioned by the BBC last year.

If you are interested, the tutor on yesterday's course mentioned a website that he considers to be the only one worth looking at for photographs. It has an extremely high standard and apparently it is very difficult to get your images shown on that site. It is called Lens culture 

And I leave you with this quote from Ansell Adams..'There is nothing worse than a sharp image of a fuzzy concept'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.