Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

The Other End of My Town

Here's a view, taken in the market town where I live, of the other end of the High Street to the War Memorial in the Broadway.  The Market Square end of the pedestrianised street, seen in this blipfoto, includes the George & Dragon pub.  It's one of the oldest buildings in Chesham, dating back to the 17th Century when it was a departure point for public transport - such as stagecoaches - before the arrival of the railway.  Quite a few of the pubs in and around the Chesham area have closed during the two decades that I've lived there, with at least two of them being converted into dwellings.  The George and Dragon has been a venue for my book club meeting in the past.


Apologies for my lack of comments recently.  I haven't spent much time online lately, and am still catching up on backblips!  The old cliché about being as busy in retirement as at work is absolutely true.  I can honestly say that I haven't been bored for one second since I took early retirement at the end of March, and there's an unlimited number of things still to do both around my flat and garden as well as exploring the wider world, plus of course being able to spend time with Mum and my family more often.  I definitely made the right decision.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.