Bright Pink and Silver

"Deep in their roots all flowers keep the light"

American poet Theodore Roethke (1908-1963)


I recently decided to keep hold of my old silver Ford StreetKa as well as being the registered keeper of Dad's Vauxhall Corsa.  I bought it new twelve years ago and I'm not really ready to part with it, because even though it's getting on a bit now I still love it.  I mostly use the Vauxhall as it's an easier and more comfortable drive, but I took Mum out for a spin in the StreetKa after lunch to keep the engine and battery running well.  These stylish little cars were hand built in Pininfarina, Italy between 2002-2005, and as only 37,000 of them were ever produced for the entire global market I'm hoping that one day they might become a rare classic and actually go up in value once more.  At the moment, I'd be lucky to get a few hundred pounds for it.

Whenever we pull into the driveway at Mum's at the moment, we see the gorgeous bright pink flowers on the plant in my blipfoto.  Dad definitely didn't put this in, but in the past few years it has seemingly appeared from nowhere.  It's now nearly 2' tall and has silvery stalks and leaves.  It has only just started to bloom in the last week, and there are many more buds still to open.  I may be wrong, but I think it could be a Rose Campion.  Even if it's a weed, we love its pretty jewel-coloured flowers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.