The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Jezzie on the climbing wall

I took my niece Jezzie to the climbing centre in Gloucester today. I knew she'd been on a course, and was keen. Lea Anne couldn't come with her son Andy, and Kate, Jezzie's mum, isn't a climber and wanted to check out the dragon boat racing in Gloucester Docks, and the pop-up market. So, it was just the two of us, and I wasn't climbing, just belaying.

Jezzie did really well. She hadn't tackled walls of this height (11metres) before. I think a lesson or three would help: start with the right technique and safety tips, etc. When you're an adult you don't get much climbing instruction apart from the safety stuff, unless you pay for lessons. The one lesson I ever had was brilliant and inspired me greatly.

After Jezzie had done six climbs, she wanted a break, so we tried bouldering, and when she had done a bit of that, she wanted lunch, and after that she wanted to climb again (what it is to be eight!) so we showed Kate, who had by now joined us, her climbing skills. Kate must have taken these shots, as I was belaying. By this time it was almost five pm, and we had to head off separately: Kate and Jezzie back to Preston, and I on the bus to Stroud. Jezzie was really sad to leave, and I too was sorry to see them go.

I am not sure why it has taken me three weeks to post this shot...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.