Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Peanuts?? I haven't seen any peanuts!

My attempts at gardening today were thwarted by the appearance of Lemmy, Speed Racer, and Stumpy - the three "garden"chippies.  At one point, as I was kneeling down planting some seeds in little pods, I looked down to find a chipmunk with his tiny paw on my leg, looking up with pleading eyes... it would take a far harder heart than mine to resist that!  Of the three garden chippies, Stumpy is the only one that is too timid to approach me - the fact that half of his tail is gone means that he's narrowly escaped death at some point, so he has every right to be wary.  It doesn't stop him from climbing into the feeder and hoovering up seeds faster than you can say "chipmunk" though!  You can see him in the Extras today, complete with his stump of a tail.

In other news...it looks like I may be graced with Tree Swallows nesting in the yard!  Today the female was busy gathering grass and putting it in the box in the front yard, while the male perched on the roof of our house and chattered encouragement at her.  If I were her, I'd have a word with him about his complete lack of assistance!  I moved a second box to the front, hoping to distract the House Wren who was insisting on looking in the swallow's box and singing from the roof at every opportunity.  Another photo in Extras of Mrs bringing grass to the nest...

I got some of my critters from yesterday identified and have posted 3 of them on Flickr.  Also two additional shots from today (hummingbird clearwing moth and nuthatch) , all five starting HERE. 

Lots of interesting activity in the yard today with waxwings, robins, a gorgeous indigo bunting, a singing wood thrush (magical), hummingbirds and swallows.   Made the intermittent rain showers seem not so bad at all

Toodles, good people.

Thank you so much for the comments, hearts and stars on yesterday's blip - very much appreciated!

For Hubs and I, the weekend has officially started - he's home early and we are heading towards a nice glass of wine very soon...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.