FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Aviator's Playground

Sunny skies and a sporting wind set the scene at Sywell Aerodrome for the final day of competition flights at the British National Aerobatic Championships.

It was a pleasure to be back at Sywell two years since my last visit for the AeroExpo and six years since my first for the British National Aerobatic Championship, which back then I attended as sponsorship PR.

I love the original Art Deco design of the Aviator Hotel, bar and restaurant and with a tarmac and grass runway the aerodrome is well suited to aviation events. One of my best friends is now the aerodrome events and functions coordinator so I am sure I'll be visiting a lot more often in future.

Today's competition for British Aerobatic Champion was a close one with a very talented group of pilots competing for Gold in the Known and freestyle categories.

Congratulations to my friend Michael Pickin who at 24 years old is now the youngest person to take Silver in the Unlimited category. A great day and a very proud one indeed for all his friends and family as we cheered at the 'P' he drew in the sky with his dotted smoke trail.

Sywell was a true aviator's playground today or perhaps that's the sky above us?....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.