Incredibish

By Incredibish

Half a Crown is better then...

I've had extension tubes for my Canon for a while, but I've seldom used them. But I'm pondering the possibility of purchasing a potentially pleasurable prime; a Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro IS USM [in the background, gentle reader, there is the sound of a mouse, clicking gently] and thought I'd have a go with the tubes.

This is a half crown piece, from the days of real money. In fact minted the year of my birth. It's 32mm across and the plane of focus is about 5mm deep. It still has the comforting feel of a real coin, and makes a satisfying ring when you drop it on the table.Not like these new fangled ones and zeros... over-rated if you ask me [mutter, mutter]

In other news it was a lovely, sunny, family day complete with thick cut roast beef and good company (well, greg_lovett, what more can you say). It is of course the aforementioned Blipper with his lovely Nikon macro lens that started me pondering in the first place! [clicky, clicky] :-)

Oh, and while it's clear I don't know how to use tubes properly, they were 65mm of extension on the Canon 55-250 lens at 250mm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.