IT MUST BE LOVE!

When I got up this morning, Mr. HCB was already out in the garden working - I knew he would be, as we are going to Bath later today to meet up with relatives from America, so there was a lot to do out there.  

He came indoors bearing two huge bowls of lettuce, one for our neighbour and one for a friend, which we will deliver on our way, and then he told me that the first picking of our strawberries was in the kitchen and I could have them for my breakfast.  He had even put them into a little glass dish - he is so kind to me!

I have to say that there is absolutely NO comparison when you taste these little beauties as against the strawberries you buy in the shops -  even the English (or Scottish) ones.  

So as I savoured every one with some yoghourt, I felt very virtuous, having such a healthy breakfast.  Mr. HCB insisted they were all for me, so I ate them every one of them!

Oh - I couldn't resist doing "He loves me", "He loves me not" and am happy to say that he loves me!

We often remark that simple things trigger memories, and these reminded me that we used to go out strawberry picking when our boys were quite small.  I remember once going out with Mr. HCB's parents and as our younger son had eaten so many strawberries on the way round, Mr. HCB's father told him that as well as weighing our baskets, the man would be weighing him too - happy times!

One must ask children 
     and birds 
          how cherries 
               and strawberries taste.


Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.