Old and the new at Manchester Piccadilly

I like Manchester, a city of such contrast and vibrancy. So much new stuff, so much development, so much dereliction and space for revitalisation and so much reincarnation where old buildings have taken on a new life. And the old with the new as of here where the Rochdale Canal disappears under Piccadilly.

After today's work I walked back to Piccadilly from 1 Central Square alongside the Rochdale Canal a walk I have done before, deviating away onto the Ashton Canal passing locks and warehouses intersected by the newer tramlines.

Had an hour to wait at the station before the train to Euston. Spent the time with a first class view of the busy concourse before joining the train and am hurtling south as I write. Been dull and wet here today, contrast that with the South East where it seems to have been sunny. Even as we approach Crewe the clouds are breaking and I think we'll be on the sun before too long.

Will be back blipping yesterday's shot after I get home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.