Shedding what we no longer need.

Dear Diary,

I went out to the studio garden to clean up the piles of peony petals that have fallen in the last couple of days.  Sebastian, the garden snake, had left me a gift on the rock wall where he makes his home.  Sometime very recently he had wiggled out of his old skin which was tissue thin.  It was quite beautiful and I brought it in to put on the window sill.

We too outgrow things that use to feel just right.  We "shed" things and behaviors that no longer suit the person we've become.  That is the natural process of life I think.  I've been giving away things I've accumulated over the years bit by bit...a purifying purging of sorts.  I know longer need so much "stuff" in my life.

As to the fallen peony petals, I made a "painting" of them and added it as my extra photo today.  I will be taking my watercolors to Nantucket this weekend.  I taught painting to adults for 20  years but I haven't done anything much in at least 15 years.  Perhaps this trip will inspire me to pick it up again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.