Up the Road

My visit to Blip yesterday was short-lived. The power went off! Not surprising, given the amount of snow that fell overnight. We had about 25 cm (10 in), which settled gently on the trees and and made them lean or snap off. I took the above photo of the main road, living up to its name of Great Alpine Highway, after the snowplough had made several passes.

It was hard going in my garden in the soft snow. I did a lot of staggering even though I had my walking stick. The damage is disappointing. Trees have had branches, and even main stems, broken. Some are leaning right over with their leafy branches buried. All the bushes are flattened and covered smoothly into white cushions. Many of these bushes were 2 metres high.

I was properly prepared, with a big heap of firewood on the veranda, all my gadgets charged up, and plenty supplies. The power occasionally came on for a while and went off again, which was good to keep the freezer cold. I did download the photos I took, but the power went off again before I could upload one to Blip.

Poor little Ladyship had to go out periodically. I trod a track around the buried bushes and under the hedge for her, which she made use of. However, in the night she negotiated the deep drift under the cat door, in and out, judging by the pokey holes in the snow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.