FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Give me a moment Monday!

A wet, grey morning was made all the more bleak by a frustrating journey to work today. I got stuck behind a tractor first of all, then an overly-cautious driver, you know one of those that does 20mph on a 60mph country lane and brakes at oncoming cars and you think errrrr how do you have a driving licence?

Next I got held up behind a horse box shortly followed by the traffic coming to a stand still in one of the villages as a dustcart attempted a 23-point turn in a narrow street. I thought to myself: "Just give me a moment Monday. I'm not awake yet and you're already throwing obstacles at me!"

After just 5 hours sleep I felt a bit grouchy. I couldn't get to sleep after working an evening shift at the Castle so I knew today would be a bit of a struggle. I listened to a podcast to block out the traffic issues and promised myself I'd get the train tomorrow. Already I felt a bit better.

A few hours later I nipped out of the office for a coffee from Pret. Just as I got outside the heavens opened and despite a mere 50 second dash to the coffee shop I got absolutely drenched. I thought to myself again: "Just give me a moment will you Monday!"

On my (soggy) return to the office the Internet stopped working so I volunteered to call the IT company and try to resolve the issue on behalf of everyone (a small team of 10). I opted for the polite, friendly approach rather than the 'toys out of the pram' option. A while later we established it was nothing to do with our IT provider and was the broadband service. We went for the old option of turning everything off and on again.

For the rest of the day it felt like hamsters were running our computers with Internet pages loading painfully slow and emails taking forever to come through coupled with clients complaining we hadn't replied. Yet again I thought to myself: "Just give me a moment will you PLEASE Monday!"

The rain stopped and the sun started to peep out around lunchtime so I decided to pop into a book store for a 10 minute browse through the shelves to try to take a few quiet moments just to escape the monotony of Monday's niggles. I bought a book called 'One moment, one morning' which seemed appropriate and sounded interesting.

I'm looking forward to a soak in the bath and a chance to escape into my new book before getting an early night. So Monday listen up, I'm taking MY moment now. You've had enough already!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.