Gondola view

Black ice and snow on Porters Pass cancelled my hoped for trip to the mountains today. Maybe tomorrow.

I negotiated a bit of black ice closer to home and got myself to the base of the Bridal Path (the track the first European settlers formed between the Port of Lyttleton and the swamp that became Christchurch over the other side of the Port Hills).

From there I spent a happy 2.5 hours trying to keep warm and generally enjoying myself. A bit of the old slippery rocks on the southern faces above Lyttleton put me off, so I sidled around before dropping down onto the Summit Rd.

These days much of Summit Rd is closed to traffic except bikes, runners and walkers. I quite like that though the busted and scarred bits from the earthquake are quite eerie.

Anyway, if you've ever wondered what the view from the gondola is like, this is pretty much it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.