The Newcastle Hoppings

"The Hoppings" is an annual funfair held on Newcastle Town Moor; it dates back to 1882 and coincides with "Race Week" at Newcastle Racecourse when the Northumberland Plate is awarded. It is said to be the largest travelling fair in Europe - so it's a great attraction to a blipper.

They've had a rather wet week for it this year (see the rather superb photo taken yesterday by fellow blipper 4MagpieS here!) but we were lucky enough to have a dry evening today.

This shot appealed to me particularly in view of my career as an eye doc, although I don't recall ever seeing a human eye looking quite like the one on this ride!

This is the second year I've blipped from the Hoppings - last year's photo is here, and contains a link to a flickr album from Hoppings 2014.

I've now added an "extra" here on blip, and on flickr there's some more here if you'd like to take a peek :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.