Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Ups and downs and a trumpet gentian

Today the Easy Walk was Viel dal Pan with wonderful views of the Marmolada and a huge range of wild flowers.

It wasn't very easy at all!

We decided to go down by gondola rather than walking the whole distance back. The first people to arrive at the gondola station found no sign of life and the refuge was clearly closed. We sat in a dejected bunch on the steps wondering how we could reinvigorate our tired bodies to walk again.

Then, a group of walkers approached the gondola station and the doors opened. We had just missed the half hourly gondola, but our spirits soared!! It was a great ride down.

Back in Corvara I did a very quick shop and did not realise I'd left my walking poles until I was in Badia. Oh dear.

Phone calls were made and they were at the shop. Rick, the wild flower expert, drove me to pick them up so the day ended on a high (until some of our group broke into raucous singing after dinner. I had to remind them that I had signed to say that everyone would behave with due decorum on the holiday......)
The extra image shows some of our group heading towards the snow covered Marmolada.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.