Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Learning the ropes

It rained all day. It rained heavily. Despite that the garden birds were in a feeding frenzy. I didn't want to go out and top up the feeders because it was raining so much.

The tree sparrows were active at the feeding station by the front door. The adults are training their young to use the feeders, as you see!

In the back garden, the greater spotted woodpeckers reigned supreme, with no small bird daring to feed alongside them.

I was at home packing and preparing for the holiday.

The day was not without incident.

Firstly, Bolwby, who used to be very slow and arthritic, had had a new lease of life with hyperthroidism. She is lighter and able to jump and run. I saw her run out of the front gate and into the road. Arghh. She is stone deaf so does not hear the cars. She disppeared into thin air, but came home later. Phew!

Later, I remembered that I had not yet completed my Russian visa application and needed to take it with me to Austria (because I'm going to the Application Centre in Manchester on my way home). I had no idea of the name of my "Chief" in my last job. Tempted to put "SELF" but decided that would not go down well.

Much later, I remembered that I needed to print off a passport photo of self for form. Printer was running out of ink. Arghh!

Have moved ready meals for Mum into upstairs freezer. Two short for the duration. We have solved that I think.

Between us we negotiated the change of dressing on the surgical site. It looks good but would not take much to burst it open so care required.

Have packed more or less.

Still have to decide which camera to take and to charge the batteries.

Managed to watch some of Federer v Willis match. How delightful to see someone enjoying himself to the full. He was having a ball.

The extra is a wet allium head. It was pipped to the post by the birds.

I've had an earworm today - a song from Captain Noah and his Floating Zoo. I wonder why?

The Lord looked down on the Earth and it made him sad
It should've been good what I made, but it turned out bad

There's nothing but sinning, wickedness and violence there

Remind me to wash mankind right outta my hair

I'm gonna make it rain and rain and rain and rain and rain

I'm gonna make it rain and rain and rain and rain again

For forty days and forty nights

'Cos I'm sorry I said let there be light

Rain and rain and rain and rain and rain



I'm gonna make it rain and rain and rain and rain and rain

For forty days and nights of rain

I'm gonna wash those sinners down the drain

Rain and rain and rain and rain and rain

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.