The Way I See Things

By JDO

Abstract Thursday

I thought it would be fun to get involved in youoregon1's new challenge, Abstract Thursday - if you haven't run across it, here are some of his thoughts on the concept.

I decided that I would have a go at photographing a flower through the distorting lens of a glass bowl - I've seen some very effective shots taken that way, and it sounds pretty straightforward, doesn't it?

It is not straightforward. At all. Even when my lovely studio assistant volunteered to hold the bowl it was not straightforward - in fact, if any of the neighbours witnessed the performance they'd have been forgiven for deciding that we had finally and completely lost our minds. The extra was taken much more simply - I put the 31mm extension tube on the 50mm lens, and pointed it at a Santolina chamaecyparissus from beyond the focal range of that combination. Both shots were then beaten up a bit in LR, but no other effects were used. Does it show??!

If that orange bloom on Lady Emma Hamilton survives the rain we've had this afternoon - not a given, by any means - she may well reappear tomorrow, slightly better-focused.

OK - enough about me. Wide Angle Wednesday. Thanks to those of you who took part - and bigger thanks if your photo involved a building of some kind!

My hearts this week have gone, in no particular order, to:

Ellisroger - I love the composition of this shot; the perspective and reflections combine to make an image that your brain has to deconstruct - not always a good thing, but it really works for me here!

MildlyOffensive - the framing of the tower within the curve of the lower building is very effective, and the whole composition satisfies my eye.

osuzanna - this has great leading lines and the distortion is very attractive - and the mono processing increases my feeling of being taken back to the golden age of travel. Love it.

greg_lovett - the steel rings provide great foreground interest, and at the same time draw you through the shot - and I really like the low angle.

isbi - again I really like the leading lines, but it's the composition overall that really works for me here - I don't think it would have been nearly as interesting if isbi had taken two steps forward, or even one to the left. Great shot.

Honourable mentions this week go to:
Paladian
Philiphoto
ninetofortytwo
Skeena
hobbs

- speaking of whom: for next week I'd like to plagiarise revisit a couple of the lessons hobbs taught us in earlier challenges - largely because some of us (me) were slow to learn them. In widwed03 we looked at foreground interest, and in widwed06 we got up close and personal. These challenges made use of the capacity of a wide angle lens to allow you either to get very close in to your subject, or to use a close object as a point of interest in a much wider scene.

So, next week's topic is simply Close - the tag will be widwed19. I'll post a reminder next Tuesday (unless I forget, in which case will someone please nudge me!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.