Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

On the side of the road

This blip is especially for SweetArt, and ideally, I should be standing next to this display, but it is too hot to park up and walk to it.

So... over here, you find all types of miscellaneous road furniture/ advertising and this particular one is of Rainbow (evaporated milk) marking 60 years of perhaps being in the region. I say region, because the UAE itself is only 43 1/2 years old! For anyone who was here pre- 1980s, they would have had to drink their tea with this as the milk! That's right, we had powdered/evaporated milk till the 70s when long-life milk arrived, and then fresh milk from the 1980s...

SweetArt & I grew up having this in our tea. I still prefer my tea with it and often carry my own supply with me or decline tea altogether, though SweetArt has learnt to drink low-fat milk.

It tickled me that Rainbow have placed these around town. G took this pic as I was driving. Apart from a very good church service in the morning, it's been a very quiet, catch up with rest day.

Heard a news report about 4 children in China being found dead - apparently a suicide; then a subsequent report about parents who leave their kids/families behind in order to travel abroad to make a better life for their families. A better life by leaving their kids behind, not in the care of an adult? It's too sad for words. I'm glad my parents didn't do that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.