Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Fan Zone

Yay! Made it to the end of another week. Good day at work but either Ramadan disruption or my diet are making me feel very achy with headaches!

Went straight to Dubai Mall to watch a movie with Miriam. I thought the Jersey Boys had opened here but it hasn't yet. We ended up watching Chef which was interesting to say the least! Came home via the car wash except it was now almost time for Iftar so I was asked to come back later which I did. It's a good time to get the Volvo washed as 1. it is the weekend so won't get parked in the sandpit, and 2. when G returns she said she would be chauffer again!

I was minding my own business whilst the car was being hoovered etc when I heard a voice saying what great condition my car is in - so we got chatting. Apparently this person (Fadi) was given a similar Volvo by his father during his college days but he didn't want to be associated with it and ended up crashing it in an accident.

One of the things I absolutely love doing is driving my car with my music on LOUD, so I decided to come home via the Creek with the Soundtrack to my Life blaring; taking the longest way there and stopping at every traffic light to prolong the trip. It ended too soon though - just 5 songs worth :(

And I have heard from G. She was told her flight was delayed by an hour when she arrived at the airport, so I quickly looked up Emirates flight status on their website which said the aircraft hadn't even taken off from Malta! So really, it was at least 4 hours delayed. On the back of that info, she got given a free meal and permission to go home and return when called. Several hours later, and the plane is still waiting to leave Malta... so 6am arrival here - maybe. Guess I can have an unbroken nights' rest.

Oh. Nearly forgot. My blip is of the ice rink in Dubai Mall. It has been sectioned off to make way for . . . A Coke sponsored fan area! Those red and white things in the far end are bean bags so people can sit and watch the footie on a giant screen. I can see that the advantage of having under floor cooling can be invaluable! ;)

And lastly, a very happy 4th of July to my American friends!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.