Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Stand still for long enough.....

I went to Newcastle this morning. My original plan was to use the express bus from Corbridge, which is very convenient and I now have a bus pass. 30 minutes after the time, the bus was not in sight, so I drove in. (I did have a good chat with a nice couple at the bus stop who had a couple of hours to kill so were going to the Metro Centre.)

In Newcastle, I headed for Grey's Monument. I have an idea for a project. There were no stalls and no one was demonstrating, but I decided to hang around with intent. People watching is fascinating.

This was the first of 4 hen parties who appeared over the next 90 minutes. They were the oldest and the most colourful.

Later the anti racist crowd and the guys from the Islamic Diversity group set up their stalls and two men held up a placard to advertise a Kinky Disko (sic).

I met Julie in the Laing for lunch. We went to see Forever Amber, a wonderful photography exhibition by a variety of well known photographers including Ian MacDonald, Chris Killip, Chris Steele-Perkins and Henri Cartier Bresson. It's wonderful and I'll be back to view it again as soon as I can.

We were in town for the matinee performance of Peter Pan Goes Wrong. We laughed from start to finish at a brilliantly directed catalogue of on-stage disasters.

What a day.

The cats were pleased to see me when I came home. They are not used to being here alone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.