Gannets Galore

On Saturday my wife and I went with some friends to the Bass Rock Charity Supper for Leuchie House which is a respite unit which is funded almost totally from charitable donations.

Part of the pre-supper entertainment was a trip round Bass Rock, which has one of the largest colonies of gannets in Europe. There was a fairly heavy swell so photography was somewhat of a hit-or-miss activity and my motor drive was whirring away in the hope that one or two shots would be sharp. It is difficult to convey the experience of of a sky absolutely teeming with flying gannets and making choices about which birds to follow was somewhat arbitrary . I've added some extra photos which I hope give you some idea of the photo opportunities that this trip can give you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.